Closing costs higher on Loan Estimate than final?

This process has been exhausting so far. Finally I got my appraisal back and it came in above sale price so I thought I was in the clear but then the Loan Estimate came back and it was more money than we have. About 3k more. Naturally I freaked out and contacted my loan officer guy and he assured me that the loan estimate numbers are not final, that they are just a highball, and that I should be fine with 3k less.

I'm still worried that maybe hes not looking at my finances carefully enough or he didnt understand my question because the loan estimate shows an amount we definitely cant afford. I've been doing research and I haven't found anything that supports this about the Loan estimate so maybe someone here can clarify how this works for me?

Thanks in advance.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

