Refund for Landlord’s Insurance after 1 month because I’m doing a lease back. Can someone help clarify my solution?

I'm closing on a house on June 29th. The family wishes to stay in the house until I gain possession on July 31st, and will pay me rent for that month.

I was advised to obtain Landlord's Insurance. I obtained a quote, but the insurance company said I must pay for a full year of Landlord's Insurance as I cannot obtain coverage for a single month.

He said that once that month is up, I will call him and he will cancel my Landlord's Policy and write up a new policy for Homeowner's Insurance.

The part that confuses is me is regarding getting my refund for the 11 months that I will be living in the house. He said that he cannot issue me a Refund Check directly. After the month, he will process a Refund for the time not covered and this refund will be sent to my escrow. Apparently I have to warn my bank about this, because I am not allowed to touch this money?

Can someone explain why this has to be? Why can't I just get a check back, and then put that towards the Homeowner's Insurance? Why must it go into my escrow account on the home?

Thank you.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

