(CA) Question on negotiating RENT price for available home.

I have been watching a house for rent that I like in Northern California, but is priced extremely high.

Where I am located rent (per room) is somewhere between $300-$500 and this was initially priced at $1,150 per room if you don't included the detached studio in the back.

It is a 2 bed, 2 bath, nicely remodeled, in a great location, but still, priced wayyyyy too high. They have posted their place 3 times within the last 5 days on Craigslist. It has gone from $2,300 – $2,100 – $2,000 all within these 5 days.

MY QUESTION is… what is the best way to go about getting this place at the most affordable price? Can I notify that I've been watching their spot and HAVE seen it drop in price… or should I NOT mention the drop I've witnessed.

Also, should I say that I am a local and know that it is priced way too high and offer something lower and see where they can meet at a price point?

I am interested in what is the "right" way to go about this without being offensive.

Thank you!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

