Licensee Startup Costs [CA]

I’m currently in the middle of doing my online education to become a licensee in California and I see the same advice everywhere: “Don't get into the business unless you can afford to live off your savings for six months.” To put it bluntly, I can’t, so I’m not sure how to proceed from here.

I’m going to finish my courses regardless, but should I wait to take my exam until I have that six month nest egg built up? Is there a time limit between finishing your courses and sitting for the exam? Should I do the exam right away anyway? If so, how do I manage w/o much in the way of savings, especially in an area where I don’t have much family support or any kind of sphere to speak of?

I’m also considering Redfin. Being the “deal mill” that they are, I could probably get that six months savings pretty quickly.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

