Home inspection done – got some problems..

Hey all. Just had a beautiful home inspected. Just got the report back today. There are a couple of things that are concerning – (1) foundation wall cracks with water seepage were noted after raining. Mold noted as well. (2) signs of termite infestation (3) leak seen at the ceiling on 1st floor [area below 2nd floor tub]

Sounds like a lot of things. The seller and I are self represented by a lawyer. We are not represented by agents. My lawyer suggested I bring a trusted contractor to evaluate the cost to fix these issues as long as the seller allows. Once that's settled. We can try to work that in as a seller concession if possible.

Whats the best strategy to go about this? Do I show the seller the complete home inspection report? If I do I feel like he should pay some for it. After all. It did cost me a few hundred…

Suppose the repair cost comes out to like 40-50k. Do I ask for seller concession to be X over the estimate that was given?

Any advice input appreciated!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

