Mortgage and Divorce

My ex-swife and I divorced a few years back. In the divorce, I agreed to give up my interest in the house and she agreed to assume or refinance the mortgage. At the time, the house was underwater so she didn't do much about and I didn't really push it because I assumed the fact that it was underwater would probably make the process difficult.

Now, the house is no longer underwater (approximate value 220K, approximate loan balance 185k). The mortgage is an FHA mortgage through Quicken Loans. Quicken is saying that it isn't possible to assume the mortgage because my ex-wife is already part owner of the house. I think that they are just giving us the runaround, but I don't know how to go about solving it.

We would life to do the assumption because of the low costs and because the mortgage is currently 3.75% interest.

Is there any advice anyone can give me please?

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

