Treatment of Limited Service Brokers

I'm currently selling my house with a limited service broker. It's listed on the MLS with great pictures and when I get an offer they will handle the contract paperwork until closing for a flat $1500. Personally I think the agent I'm dealing with is wonderful. He quickly returns my calls and has been a great help with my questions.

After a showing yesterday I called the buyer's agent for feedback. After some discussion he told me something I had suspected. He said there are many agents in town who actively discriminate against limited service brokers.

He then told me something that I did not know which is that he tells his buyers they should get a larger discount (3%) because the seller doesn't have a traditional agent. His argument is that the buyers are the ones paying for the agent anyways. He said most agents in town would do this. I was shocked by this and found it to be pretty arrogant.

Is this normal or typical behavior that traditional agents have towards limited service brokers?

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

