Duplexing, and The Long Game. Check My Strategy? (Ontario, Canada)

I have the opportunity to convert my home to a duplex, which in my current market, should add $100k to my home.

I require access to approx. $20k to pay for permits and to complete the work.

The near goal is to cash in on some of the equity (It'll give me around $250K equity) to purchase another income property. The two obvious options I see for that 20k is a) access my line of credit (not heloc) at prime +1.  OR b) cash out refinance the home. 

However I pay for it, it seems like a win. But does it make more sense to use the line of credit, even if it's more expensive? My thinking is that when I cash-out-refi, the home will be a duplex and worth even more?

Is there something obvious I'm missing?

Edit: HELOC is a lower interest rate option, but my mortgage wasn't set up with that option, so to convert to a heloc, they need to do an appraisal (which would be as a single family home).

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

