Can I ask the lender or closing attorney to delay closing? (GA)

This is a follow up question to this post. So far the sellers have not been reasonable when it comes to extending the closing. I completely understand that it is my fault but what has happened, has happened, and there is no turning back unless I want to say goodbye to my $5000 earnest money deposit. I asked for a five day extension and they want an additional $20,000 in earnest money which would bring my deposit to $25,000! I know this goes towards the house but it's still a risk that I'm not crazy about taking, for a few reasons.

Anyway, in my state (Georgia) you can get an eight day extension, for free, if either the lender or the lawyer isn't ready. Would it be reasonable to ask the lender or lawyer to request this extension? I know it's not totally above board to ask this but I don't feel like the sellers are being reasonable and it may be my only option.

Just like last time, I'm looking for an opinion besides my agent's, who I have not asked yet.

Thank you!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

