Bought foreclosed at auction, when does ownership begin?

I bought a house at foreclosure auction in California. Trustee is saying it'll take up to a month before I receive the grant deed. Currently there are people living there – can I start eviction process now, or do I need to wait until deed is recorded? Also, any input on when to get insurance and if I should get both homeowners and tenant liability as well? (ie, am I liable right now, or only after deed is recorded) . All I have now is a document from auction saying I won the house.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

