Capital gains on house I inherited 2 years ago but am now selling? (MA)

I couldn't really find anything similar to my specific situation, so I am hoping for some help. Thanks!!!

I moved in with my 96 year old grandfather on 9/1/2015 to help take care of him as he was less able to look after himself. He lived in a mobile home in Massachusetts. In December of 2015 he was moved to a nursing home, and passed away on 1/22/2016. After he passed I inherited his mobile home and have been living there since. This summer I decided to sell the mobile home to move in with my girlfriend. Everything went quickly and the closing is on 8/31/2017.

My question is about the capital gains on the sale of the house. Do I fall into the exemption because I have been there for, coincidentally, exactly 2 years? Does the inheritance cause any issues with it?

I'm not sure if it was a standard inheritance as my name was on the deed with my grandfathers, and it may have just fallen to me as the owner after he passed.

Please let me know if any other info or details would help.

Thanks!!!!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

