Online rates much lower than local. Is there any reason why?

First time buyer here so I'm a bit ignorant on how these things work. I've got a 730 credit score and make $75k before bonuses. I'm looking to buy a $200k house and put 10% or 15% down (I have cash reserved for improvements to the property). I also have zero debt.

Local lenders are offering 4.5% which seems high. Online I'm getting quotes of 3.68% (SmartMortgage which I got through lending tree). Is there any reason I wouldn't just go with the lower rate?

I'm in Houston TX.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

