Should I increase rent for one of my tenants?

I own several houses in Las Vegas, NV. I have not raised the rent for my properties for the past 5 years. One particular house I own has tripled in value (bought for $100k and is worth$300k in present time). The tenant has been paying very low rent for the last couple of years and has a month to month agreement with me. She is not the best tenant and can be very rude when a repair is needed.

The average rent price in the area is $1200 but I have been charging her $800 for the last couple of years. Property taxes have increased recently and I am thinking about raising the rent $200 – $300 and enforcing a yearly contract instead of a month to month basis. I do not mind if she moves out but is this unethical? I just find it unfair that everyone else in the neighborhood is renting for $1200 while she is only paying $800. On top of that, she has damaged a significant part of my kitchen in the house and is very rude to me and my spouse. Thank you for all the answers!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

