Condo board refuses to work with new owners until all paperwork from escrow is received. Is this even legal? (WA)

Hi!

Quick question of the legality of the situation I'm in: I've closed on a condo last week. The unit is in need of renovation, which I'd like to do before I move in. According to condo rules, I need to obtain an approval for all renovation, remodeling or improvement projects in the unit, with which I'm willing to comply.

The challenge is that property manager has literally refused to work with me and accept my application on the grounds that "paperwork from the escrow company has not been received".

I don't want to start my relationship with the property manager with a dispute, but… is this even legal? If not, what can I reference?

(I am working with the escrow company in the meantime to see if I can in any way expedite the archaic exchange of physical copies of the documents in the digital era)

Thanks!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

