24, first timer with special conditions

Hello!

I'm a 24 year old (Single, no dependents) and i am being retired from the military in a few months. I would like to begin my life with a home to call my own, but i don't really know what my options are…

So here's some info. Due to my disability, i'll be receiving $1,500 a month from the VA, which isn't taxed. I will be able to work, so it won't be my only income. I don't know if lenders look at that as "income" when it comes to loans, but that's another tale.

My big question is if anyone has had experience buying real estate with a VA loan, and if it was as great as the liaisons (Salespeople) say. Low interest, no closing costs etc, it all sounds too good to be true.

Also, I know every state has different taxes, and regulations…so basically if you had the chance to buy a house anywhere in the country, where would you go and why? Where is the market most stable, and manageable for someone in my position?

Realistically, would i be a fool to go and buy a house right after getting out? Or should i wait some time before i go into the market?

Thank you friends! Edit: Planning on going to school (Paid for by GI bill) for finance. I'd eventually like to work with mortgages or money in general.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

