Lockbox Rental Showing – Scam?

[OH] I recently scheduled to look at a house for rent in my area that, based on the photos in the Trulia ad, appears to be a very nice 3 bedroom home for what I would say is listed at below market value.

After doing scheduling online via showmojo.com I was asked to provide a photo of my driver's license via text and received an email stating that I will receiving an email confirmation 24 hrs before my scheduled showing which will include a lockbox code for a self-guided tour.

The reasonable part of me thinks that perhaps the owner of the home is out-of-state and this is a more cost effective option to show the home remotely without hiring a body, but part of me thinks something smells fishy.

Is this standard practice and I am overthinking this, or should this type of arrangement appropriately raise a red flag?

Thanks in advance.

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a Reply

