selling house with reverse mortgage for medicaid applicant, can I let the house go voluntarily? can I get my money if the house forecloses?

My stepmother is now in a nursing home, she owes me money for caretaking while I was caring for her at her house; having to sell house for medicaid. Finding structural modifications she made on the house years ago unpermitted. After I got a bunch of work done to get the house ready, she reveals that when she tried to sell it some years ago, it wouldn't sell due to many issues exposed in the inspection years ago.

Got an inspector over here, and confirmed the following major issues:

–1 bedroom is not actually a bedroom due to code issues –master bath remodel was done so poorly by a friend of the family that it will need redoing–quotes in for $20k-30k –Mold inside the walls of the downstairs bathroom, minimum r&r of bathtub walls/tile –but the big one is her son joined two bedrooms together by opening up the doorways, making structural mods to the door openings (he widened the openings), without permits. Looking closer he didn't reinforce the header of one opening, the other opening he reinforced by spanning (3) 2x4s over about 5' opening held up by metal jacks. Resting on the headers are the roof joists.

At this point a friend of the family is playing POA and wants to do anything to make the house sellable. I on the other hand, who am owed a significant sum and am trustee for the property, would rather stop here and not put good money after bad, given the scope of money needed to make the house sellable.

TL;DR: need to sell property for my stepmother for medicaid, house has too many issues to risk putting putting more money into, i'm the trustee, can I call up the reverse mortgage company and tell them to come and foreclose? do I face any legal recourse for doing this? she has been out of the house for over a year. If house forecloses, can I recover on the contract I had by filing a lien on the property?

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a comment