Will Zillow/Opendoor/etc. purchase my home under these circumstances? (CA)

Hey everyone,

Long story short, I own a condo that is a part of an HOA. My building (4 units) as well as the building across from me (4 more units) has open stucco on the outside walls. It's bad. If I were to list my condo right now, I don't even know if it would sell because the outside walls are so ugly (and would it even finance?). It's been such a process to get the HOA to move (one of my neighbors is stopping the construction from happening…long story but I'm really stuck between a rock and a hard place here).

I just want to sell the place and move on. It's my primary residence, so my mental health has been negatively affected. Worst first time home buying experience ever. I know selling to the big dogs is "bad", but at this point, I'm wondering if it would just be easier than listing it. Would Zillow/Opendoor/whoever even buy a place with open outside walls like that? It's also possible that my HOA is under litigation…I'm not sure, though. HOA and property management company won't return my phone calls or emails. I also do not have access to the monthly board meeting minutes/notes (which isn't right, but it is what it is at this point…this HOA sucks). Assuming I disclose all of that, I should be good…right? I will, of course, be consulting my real estate attorney, but I wanted to see if any of you had any wisdom regarding similar situations.

Thanks!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a comment