NYS Rental Laws

I tried to look this up but all I could find was that tenants with a lease of 1 yr must be given 60days notice to vacate the premises….

My friend has stellar rental payment history, lives in a place in upstate NY and has just received notice the landlord does not wish to renew the lease. When asking why, the landlord (or office manager because it’s a complex) stated: “there is a reason but I don’t have to tell you.”

That to me is a HUGE red flag— especially since in searching for a new place, they don’t want the apartment to be contacted for a reference and give them a bad one when they have been stellar tenants.

The only thing they can think of is that they have called the police on their neighbors a couple times for loudness/parties and other issues because they are working professionals who also work from home and the walls are paper thin.

Ultimately they want to leave now more than ever but are upset by the statement and it just seems odd to me. Is there any legal protections or tenants rights I can provide them to require the complex give the exact reason for non-renewal? Thanks!!!

More real estate tips at Program Realty Wix site

Leave a comment